Cindy Crawford at Age Whatever

by An Ordinary Man (the novel)

This one is too easy to pass up. Peggy Drexler, writing for CNN, had this to say about the celebrated – and apparently unauthorized – release of this photograph:

image

“So let’s call a spade a spade. We don’t like Crawford’s image because it’s ‘real.’ We like it because it’s a little startling and a little unattractive, and therefore makes us feel better about ourselves.” (emphasis added)

Pardon me, Ms. Dexler, but from the standpoint of an older guy, I would be thrilled if Ms. Crawford showed up at my door, dressed like this. “C’mon in, Ms. Crawford, where the light isn’t quite so harsh; what can I get you?” You see, it isn’t about looking sexy, it’s about being sexual, and I’m pretty sure she understands that.

So the wine would be poured, and the lights dimmed, and magic would follow … [sigh].

