A Minor Inequality

by An Ordinary Man (the novel)

While waiting for my ride this morning at the stop sign near our neighborhood park, a convertible New Beetle driven by an attractive woman came along with its top down. i smiled at her, and she smiled back. I guess I could have been smiling at a convertible on a lovely day, but she can be pretty sure she had something to do with it – that I liked her style, liked her tousled hair, thought she was pretty, would have liked to meet her, would have liked to sleep with her, etc.

On the other hand, her smile back could mean:

– i’d like to meet/sleep with you, too (but not enough to pull over)
– thank you for noticing how nice I look (I get this a lot)
– in your dreams (old man)

I prefer to think it’d be the second one, but the point is, guys don’t know for sure if you’re laughing with us, or at us. Utterly meaningless in the great scheme of things, of course, but I thought it was interesting.

P.S. Have you any idea how difficult it is to get a woman 50+ to smile back? Why is that, I wonder.

