“The Woman Who Gave Up Sex”

by An Ordinary Man (the novel)

Writing a guest editorial for the NY Times, Delia Ephron bemoaned the fact that the lover of “The Good Wife” was killed off, meaning they would never have at it again, which broke her heart.  I don’t watch the show and clicked on the link because for most men over a certain age, every woman seems to have given up sex.  And yet there she is saying:

Most important, she gave up sex with Will Gardner because she’s a mother. I can’t explain it any better than that. Apparently to the creators of the show, this made sense, that motherhood was incompatible with wild sex.

I’ve got news for you, Ms. Ephron; it makes sense to virtually every ordinary man I know that motherhood is incompatible with at least wild marital sex! Never once, in almost 40 years of marriage, have I met a fellow husband who wished his wife would lay off a bit after the kids were born (except the odd one or two with madonna complexes).

I have no ax to grind with her, but to the extent she believes only the creators of the show think women hang it up all too early too often, she is simply wrong. Hugely wrong. And that, in a nutshell, is the point of my novel, An Ordinary Man.

N.B: Ephron is the author of Sister Mother Husband Dog (etc.)

