Sarah’s Revenge

by An Ordinary Man (the novel)

“And of course he knew that I would divorce him if I found out, and that I would take as much of his money as I possibly could. And that didn’t seem to bother him. He’s the best at what he does; he’ll land on his feet regardless of what I do. That even includes killing myself. ‘Poor misguided Sarah’ is all he’d say.”

This comes from the most controversial chapter in An Ordinary Man; when Sarah, the wife of Richard’s best friend, Dr. Andrew Hillsdale, decides she will take revenge on her husband’s philandering by attempting to destroy that friendship. Her deed is perfectly crafted to do so, and quite dark.

As the author of the novel, dealing as it does with the male view of marital love and sex, adultery and reconciliation, I probably should mark my calendar for April 25, 2014 – the release date for a Cameron Diaz / Kate Upton movie, The Other Woman – which indicates it will take a more light-hearted approach to the all-to-common tragedy of infidelity.

I am not sure, however, that I would agree with a comment attributed to Ms. Diaz in the New York Daily News, quoting England’s OK! Magazine, that, “everybody has been cheated on, everyone will be cheated on.” In fact, the novel was written in an attempt to make infidelity less of a certainty by explaining how guys see things.

